Editor:

William Shishko’s article, “Silence?,” in the August-September issue resonated with me.  His recounting of ministers capitulating saddened me.  But I was gladdened by his call to boldly speak the truth in love, regardless of the consequences.  Why?  Because, after publishing the truth about gay marriage, I lost my side job as a news writer.

For six years, I was given free reign to write from an explicitly Christian perspective on any issue at a new national site, Examiner.com.  I published irenic opinion pieces or newsy articles about current events, including gay marriage, transgenderism, and the legal harassment of Christians.

Just after the Supreme Court’s Obergefell ruling, I was chosen as a reliable news source for direct publication to the new Google news-search cycle.  I was the fourth-most-read author in the Western region and twelfth in the nation (out of over three hundred writers).

After Obergefell, I cranked out five articles in six days.  That last day, I published my last article, “The increasing marginalization of Christianity and why it is a good thing.”  Thirty minutes later, my inbox had the dreaded email: “[Your] content is not the right fit.”  It was so unfit that they deleted all six-years’ worth of my articles.

I was not surprised.  It was a fitting warning for a new age of conformity.  They had the legal right to lay me off for any undisclosed reason.  Other writers had their anti-Obergefell articles removed as well.

I am not a martyr.  I am not complaining.  But I am urging Christians to “watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong.  Let all that you do be done with love” (1 Corinthians 16.13).

Shawn C. Mathis, Morrison, Colorado

From: New Horizons, Volume 36, Number 10 (November, 2015), p. 22.

New Horizons is the denominational magazine of the Orthodox Presbyterian Church.

Leave a Reply

