I want to know one thing, the way to heaven. . .God Himself has condescended to teach the way. . .He hath written it down in a book.  O, give me that book.  At any price, give me the book of God!  I have it.  Here is knowledge enough for me.  Le me be Homo unius libri. . .I sit down alone.  Only God is here.  In His presence, I open, I read His book, for this end, to find the way to heaven. . .Does anything appear dark and intricate?  I lift up my hear to the Father of Lights. . .I then search after and consider parallel passages. . .I meditate thereon. . .If any doubt still remains, I consult those who are experienced in the things of God, and then the writings whereby, being dead, they yet speak.  And what I thus learn, that I teach. – John Wesley (1703-1791)

Leave a Reply

