The psalmist confesses that he is dull, heavy, lumpy, all but dead.  Perhaps, dear reader, you feel the same.  We are so sluggish that the best motives cannot quicken us apart from the Lord Himself.  What!  Will not hell quicken me?  Shall I think of sinners perishing, and yet not be awakened?  Will not heaven quicken me?  Can I think of the reward that awaits the righteous, and yet be cold?  Will not death quicken me?  Can I think of dying and standing before my God, and yet be slothful in my Master’s service?  Will not Christ’s love constrain me?  Can I think of His dear wounds, can I sit at the foot of His cross, and not be stirred with fervency and zeal?  It seems so!  No mere consideration can quicken us to zeal, but God Himself must do it. – Charles Spurgeon (1834-1892), from a meditation on Psalm 119.37.

One thought on “Saturday Spurgeon (40)

Leave a Reply

