Broken, humbled to the dust/By the wrath and judgment just/Let my contrite heart rejoice/And, in gladness, hear Thy voice/From my sins, O, hide Thy face/Blot them out in boundless grace.

Gracious God, my heart renew/Make my spirit right and true/Cast me not away from Thee/Let Thy Spirit dwell in me/Thy salvation’s joy impart/Steadfast make my willing heart.

Sinners, then, shall learn from me/And return, O God, to Thee/Savior, all my guilt remove/And my tongue shall sing Thy love/Touch my silent lips, O Lord/And my mouth shall praise accord. – “God, Be Merciful to Me,” words based on Psalm 51, tune by Richard Redhead (1820-1901).  From The Psalter (1912).

Leave a Reply

