Great sovereign of all,

The heavens declare your glory, the earth your riches, the universe is your temple, and your presence fills immensity.

Give me to feel both my smallness and sinfulness before you: with David, to confess, “What is man?”  With Job, to cry, “I am vile.”  With James, to say, “Man is a vanishing vapor.”  With Peter, “I perish.”  With the publican, “Be merciful to me, a sinner.”

I bless you that you have made me capable of knowing you, the author of all being; of resembling you, the perfection of all excellence; of enjoying you, the source of all happiness.

O Lord, I am astonished at the difference between my receivings and my deservings, the state I am now in and my past gracelessness, the heaven I am bound for and the hell I merit.

You are all my good in times of peace, my only support in days of trouble, my one sufficiency when life shall end.

From: The Valley of Vision (adapted)

Leave a Reply

