Nothing but Christ’s blood taking away and, as it were, annihilating sin, can quiet an awakened conscience.  Repentance implies an abiding self-dislike and self-abhorrence and can neither destroy the existence nor extinguish the remembrance nor heal the smart of past sin.  The torment of it can never die but with a conviction that Christ took it all upon Himself. . .My sins are many and great and are continually rising up against me.  But, I must not make God a liar, deny my Savior, and grieve the Spirit by refusing His comfort.  I may have more joy of Christ than I could have had of innocence or any sanctity of my own.  O, Adam, what have you done!  O, Jesus, what have You not done! – Thomas Adams (1583-1652)

Leave a Reply

