At first, things were difficult.  George [Patterson] was a committed Christian and came on quite strong about God and Christianity and Jesus, and I found this a little overwhelming because I felt so vulnerable.  To a certain extent, I felt he was taking advantage of my situation, so I was a little guarded around both of them [Patterson and his wife, Meg, a Scottish neurosurgeon; the two of them were helping Clapton get off heroin at the time].  Though I had certainly looked at religion, I have always been resistant to doctrine, and any spirituality I had experienced thus far in my life had been much more abstract and not aligned with any recognized religion.  For me, the most trustworthy vehicle for spirituality had always been proven to be music.  It cannot be manipulated or politicized and, when it is, that becomes immediately obvious.  But, of course, I could not explain that to them back then, although I’m sure I tried, so I though the best thing to do was to give it [the Pattersons’ treatment] a try and see what would happen.

From: Clapton: The Autobiography by Eric Clapton (New York: Broadway Books, 2007), p. 142.

Leave a Reply

