Friday, February 15 – Was engaged in writing again almost the whole day.  In the evening, was much assisted in meditating on that precious text, John 7.37, Jesus stood and cried, etc.  I had then a sweet sense of the free grace of the Gospel; my soul was encouraged, warmed, and quickened, and my desires drawn out after God in prayer.  My soul was watchful, and afraid of losing so delightful a Guest as I then entertained.  I continued long in prayer and meditation, intermixing one with the other; and was unwilling to be diverted by anything from so sweet an exercise.  I longed to proclaim the grace I then meditated upon to the world of sinners.  O how quick and powerful is the Word of the blessed God! – David Brainerd (1718-1747), the diary entry for February 15, 1745.  Italics in the original.

Leave a Reply

