Tuesday, April 17 [1746] – Rode to Millington again; felt perplexed when I set out; was feeble in body and weak in faith.  I was going to preach a lecture, and feared I should never have assistance enough to get through.  But contriving to ride alone, at a distance from the company that was going, I spent the time in lifting up my heart to God; had not gone far, before my soul was abundantly strengthened with these words: If God be for us, who can be against us?  I went on, confiding in God; and fearing nothing so much as self-confidence.  In this frame I went to the house of God, and enjoyed some assistance.  Afterwards felt the spirit of love and meekness in conversation with some friends.  Then rode home to my brother’s; and in the evening, singing hymns with friends, my soul seemed to melt.  In prayer afterwards, I enjoyed the exercise of faith, and was enabled to be fervent in spirit; found more of God’s presence than I have done at any time in my late wearisome journey.  Eternity appeared very near; my nature was very weak, and seemed ready to be dissolved; the sun declining, and the shadows of the evening drawing on apace.  I longed to fill up the remaining moments all for God.  Though my body was so feeble, and wearied with preaching and much private conversation, yet I wanted to sit up all night to do something for God.  To God, the Giver of these refreshments, be glory for ever and ever.  Amen. – David Brainerd (1718-1747)

Leave a Reply

