The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places.  Indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.  (Psalm 16.6)

Had David written volumes to list all the treasures of heaven, earth, and sea, he would have said less, and to far less purpose, than by saying, “The Lord is my portion.”  If He is mine, what is the substance of my portion but His fullness, and the measure of my portion but His immensity, and the duration of my portion but His eternity?  In the everlasting covenant, ordered in all things and sure, He has been pleased to make Himself over to His people, with all He is and all He has.  “I will be your God.  I will pardon your sins.  I will sanctify your nature.  I will supply all your need.  I will be light to your darkness.  I will be strength to your weakness.  I will bless your bread and your water.  All my ways towards you shall be mercy and truth.  All things shall work together for your good.  I will guide you with My counsel and, afterwards, receive you to glory.” – William Jay (1769-1853), adapted from his volume, “Evening Exercises,” for August 11.

Leave a Reply

